Cable pattern. What is "work even for 2 rounds?"

Working in the round, here is the pattern.

Cable Rnd 1: K23 slip marker, K2, slip marker, K4, PM, P3, C3F, K3, P3, PM, K4

Cable Rnd 2 and 3: Work even for two rounds.

Cable Rnd 4: K23, sl marker, K2, sl marker, K4, sl marker, P3, K3, C3B, P3, sl marker, K4

Cable Rnd 5 and 6: Work even for 2 rounds.

What does WORK EVEN mean? What would rows 2, 3, 5 and 6 be? Can someone write them out for me?

Thank you so much.

Work even means work w/o any increases, decreases or anything. Just knit (or whatever the basic pattern is).

1 Like

Thanks Jan. I have never done cables before. So does this mean I do the same as cable round 1 two more times with the C3F? If so, the yarn gets really tight and doesn’t look right, so I don’t think that is right.

Otherwise, do I do like the round before I started the cable round? Where between the cable markers I would P3, K9, P3? I am going to try this method, but not sure if it will work right either.

I am SOOO confused. :frowning:

Hi 4deegees!

As Jan said, “work even” means not to increase or decrease, but in this case, it also means to work in your established pattern. I would write the instructions out for you, but I’m not sure what your C3F looks like. I guess the easiest explanation is to tell you to knit your knitted sts (smooth) and purl your purled sts (bumpy).

Hope that helps!

<<Working in the round, here is the pattern.

Cable Rnd 1: K23 slip marker, K2, slip marker, K4, PM, P3, C3F, K3, P3, PM, K4

Cable Rnd 2 and 3: Work even for two rounds.

Cable Rnd 4: K23, sl marker, K2, sl marker, K4, sl marker, P3, K3, C3B, P3, sl marker, K4

Cable Rnd 5 and 6: Work even for 2 rounds.

What does WORK EVEN mean? What would rows 2, 3, 5 and 6 be? Can someone write them out for me? >>