Bella's Mittens, Magic Loop?

I’m a fairly new knitter and am going to attempt Bella’s Mittens. The pattern reads “Cast on 43 stitches and join in the round using the Magic Loop Method” Then Rows 1 thru 6 read [P1, K1] x 12, P1, K12, [P1,K1] x 3.

I’ve watched the Magic Loop video a million times. I’m still confused. Do I cast on the 43, then separate the stitches and begin Row 1 of the pattern? I’ve never used circular needles before, can’t I just join and then start the pattern? I don’t HAVE to use the Magic Loop method to have it turn out the same right?

Thanks.

You don’t have to use ML but you would have to use a method designed for small diamters such as DPNs or 2 circulars. circumfrence of the mittens is too small to fit comfortably around a circular needle when joined so a method like ML is necassary.
If yousing ML you would have to put the stitches into the ML configuration before joining to avoid over stretching the cast on.

I’m very sorry but I am still not sure I understand. The pattern says join using ML, how do I join then? When watching the video it just shows splitting the stitches, then knitting, then sliding stitches, then knitting. So how do I join? And when do I start Row 1 of my pattern?

EDIT: Hmmm, ok, so after I split them then knit both sides, my work will basically be joined right? So then I start Row 1 of my pattern? Or am I still wrong? LOL.

the joining is joining to knit into the round which is done simply by knitting which is why that’s all you are seeing.
Cast on and split the sticthes into two halves as shown then hold the knitting so that the first cast on stitch is on the needle in your left hand and the last cast on stitch is on the cable. The working yarn should be coming from this last cast on stitch. Hold the working yarn as usual in your left hand (if you knit continental, right hand if English) and begin knitting as usual.