A not-so-newbie afraid of DPNs. Can I really make socks?!?

DPNs terrify me. Cables, no problem. Short rows I got. Socks … ummmm, they sell those in department stores, right?!?

So can I really make socks? I’ve been knitting for about 6 months and I haven’t tried anything with DPNs because I break out in hives just thinking about it. But I keep putting this gorgeous sock yarn into my shopping basket at every online yarn store I visit. And I want to knit socks for a benefit program I am involved in on another forum – a lot of mamas who had fallen on hard financial times this year asked for socks for their children, and it just broke my heart!

HELP! Convince me that DPNs are not scary and that I can make a sock.

I haven’t done any yet, but I know you can also do them on 2 circular needles or one long circular which is called magic loop method. Here’s the technique page.

You have all the skills needed, just need to get over your dpn fear! You may want to use my trick for getting them started. I cast on all the stitches {plus 1} on to a straight needle. I then knit off the first row {in pattern} on to my dpns, dividing them as I go {your pattern usually tells you how many per needle}. When I get to the last stitch on my straight, I slip it on to my first dpn. I knit that last stitch, and the first stitch together, and that joins it into a loop. The tiny gap left from the join, I sew that up using the yarn tail from my cast on.

I find that using the straight needle on the first row makes it easier to handle all the dpns in the process of joining it. Plus the one row already knitted makes it easier to tell if my cast on is twisted or not.

Do not fear the dpns! Despite their prickly look, they are your friends!

Seriously, they are not difficult to knit with at all. One stitch at a time, one needle at a time, just like any other knitting project. And socks are SOOOO much fun to knit!! :heart: