A crochet question

Hello

I’m not experienced in crotchet. I know how to hold the work and yarn and make a few stitches and I’m having a go at this pattern.
My question is, in the first rounds am I aiming to produce a flat circle or should it be curling up?
If it is supposed to be flat, mine is curling up, does this mean my tension is too tight?

Also, in the videos I have watched I am not really sure where I am supposed to work into. Is it the hole just under the 2 bars at the top? These bars to me look like > like a side ways knit stitch. Am I to work under that or actually into it? Or into the bigger holes which appear to be between 2 chains?

Thank you - and sorry I don’t know the correct vocabulary or how to describe the question.

@ColoCro @Snowfleas or @OffJumpsJack
can help please.

1 Like

If you are matching the stitch count at the end of each round or row, then you are probably good. A Pineapple does have a cup shapped bottom.

For a smooth face you work under both lines of the >, which is the top of the stitch. Patterns will give special instructions otherwise.

A Pineapple pattern may use the phrase “work the next stitch in back loop only” to create a ridge on the front or outside of the work.

Does your pattern have any special stitches or pattern of stitches defined before the start of the full pattern?

4 Likes

Thank you this really helpful. I have been going in under that > space so I think I have the right place.
No special stitches, chain, slip stitch, single crotchet and double crotchet.
I’m not convinced I’m doing it all right but I’ll keep going.
I’m using some yarn I really don’t like but it’s a dirty yellow which I think acceptable for a pineapple and my son has been asking for a pinapple squishie so I’m having a go.

My current round I seem a stitch off so I’ll back track a bit.

I have to change colour. Do I just leave the yarn tails to sew in later like with knitting?

Thanks for your help.

1 Like

OK I’m stuck.