#4 Dog sweater from Patons Another Dog's Life

Hello,

So I’m new to Knitting Help, and knitting in general. I decided to jump right into an intermediate pattern, and just see how it goes. And now I am a little lost.

I’m working on a dog sweater and I’ve gotten to the leg opening part. I’ve casted off the stitches for the leg opening and knit to the end of the row. Now it says to work 2.5 inchesin stocking st from the cast offs ending with the RS facing for the next row. I’m assuming that I just pick up the stitches from the cast off and knit a flat piece off the opening for 2.5 inches. I’m wondering how to start picking up the stitches, I watched the video on this site, however in the video, the orange thread was already attached to the work. What do I do to attach it?

Next It says to knit the joining row, is that just a continuation from the row with the leg opening cast offs, or is this an entire different row taht will later be attached?

The pattern is #4 in the Patons another dog’s life book. I don’t know if that helps

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Jeni

[color=violet][size=2]edit - mod squad was here[/size][/color]

I actually get the impession that you just keep knitting straight after the cast offs for the 2 1/2 inches. It’s hard to tell from your description or maybe I’m just being dense today. Is it knit flat? Unless the pattern specifically tells you to pick up and knit around the leg opening, I don’t think that’s what you should do.

When it says to knit the joining row, are you at that point supposed to start knitting in the round?

Is there a picture that we could look at of the finished product?

THanks for your help so far,

I think you may be right

Here is what the directions say

Leg Opening: 1st row - (RS) K11, cast off 10, K 80, cast off 10. Knit to end

Note: all leg sections are worked at same time with seperate yarn

Beg with Purl row, work 2.5" in stocking st from cast off sts, ending with RS facing for next row.