Yarn twisting/bunching up

I’m new to knitting. I’ve knitted a baby blanket and two “blankets” for our cats to lie on, but for each project I’ve had trouble with the yarn twisting/bunching up. I have to stop knitting, figure out which way to turn the ball of yarn to reverse the twisting. What can I do to prevent this? Am I holding the yarn incorrectly? I’m getting discouraged. Please help!

I can’t believe the timing of your post. I picked up the needles again earlier this year and I always (or rather almost always) roll my yarn into a ball…I just like it better. For some reason (I don’t remember why) I didn’t make the skein I’m working on right now into a ball and I’ve been untangling it for the last half hour. :gah:

Just as I was finally finishing and swearing not to ever knit straight from another skein again without making it into a ball…when I saw your post.

Don’t give up. Just find the best way for you. Some people don’t like to take the time to make a skein into a ball…I’d rather take the time to do that from the start then do what I had to do tonight… instead of actually knitting! I know exactly the frustration you’re feeling! :wall:

What kind of yarn are you using? If it’s Lion Homespun it’s notorious for that and the best solution is to use size 11 needles and a loose tension.

it can depend on the yarn, bu as a general rule a centre pull ball is easiest to work from as it keeps your yarn pretty straight and doesnt allow it to twist so much.

Thank you everyone for your wisdom. :grphug: It is good to know that this isn’t what I should expect in the future and I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who has had this trouble (not that I want anyone to have to deal with unwinding the yarn). I’m using yarn from Michael’s Craft store. Primarily Lion’s Homespun and Red Heart Baby Clouds. Is there a better product?

Happy knitting! :stuck_out_tongue: