Wrong and right side

I’ve been knitting for a few months now, so I am starting to knit things that are a little harder. I just started a sweater, and I am confused about right and wrong side. I understand that wrong side is the inside of the sweater and that the right side is the outside of the sweater. What I am confused about is this for example:
"(RS) Begin Gtr St; work 3 rows even,
end after a WS row. Change to St st; (RS)work 2 rows even, end after a WS row."

Does right side mean the right side is facing towards you, or away from you?
Is my 4th row a knit row or a purl row?

Well, first let me say, welcome to knitting.

Secondly, with Garter stitch the WS and RS look the same, which may be giving you some trouble.

Thirdly, all sides (RS or WS) are facing you when you work them and away from you when you are not, so this is not a way to determine RS/WS.

However, you are correct that the RS is usually the outside/visible side of the pattern/garment and WS is the backside/inside of the patterngarment.

Unless you are told otherwise, after the CO row the 1st row (and all following odd number rows) are the RS rows. The second row ( and all following even rows) are the WS rows.

This will also correlate to when you work charts where the 1st row is read from the right (RS) and the 2nd row is read from the left (WS).

Therefore,
RS=odds (1,3)=outside=front=chart right
WS=evens (2,4)=inside=back=chart left

Occasionally, you will be told that your 1st row is a WS row. Then everything will be the opposite.

“(RS) Begin Gtr St; work 3 rows even,
end after a WS row. Change to St st; (RS)work 2 rows even, end after a WS row.”