Work even rows

As per the attached (I hope you can see it), what does the “work even row” mean. Please be specific as I’m self taught and only been knitting for 6 months.

Thank you in advance for your assistanc .

Welcome to the forum!
Work even means to work the rows as you have been doing but without any increases or decreases.

Thanks. So do you mean just knit through the SK2P?

Sorry, do I knit all the “work even” rows, or K then purl?

Welcome to KH. Work even means to continue knitting as you have been in whatever pattern without increasing or decreasing. The stitch count doesn’t change. HTH

I’m really sorry to be so dense, but as per my pattern attached above, if I understand, do I just knit one row and purl the next? Or do I follow the Chevron pattern in the upper left corner? I just took up knitting 6 months ago for my mental health, and this is driving me strange ®. Lol
Thank you in advanc .

1 Like

Is there a photo anywhere of what this is supposed to look like? I do think it means carry on in the chevron pattern, but you can’t always know for certain! A picture would provide a good clue, however.

It’s a good question and the name of the pattern will help. When you knit even, continue to follow the Chevron pattern and the SK2P but don’t work the extra decreases that are in the Dec row.
The SK2P is part of the Chevron pattern. The k2tog and SKP are the extra decreases. Knit these sts on the even rows, purl on the odd rows.

K1, (k1, M1, k4, k2tog, SK2P, SKP, k4, M1, k2, M1, k6, SK2P, k6, M1, k1)

1 Like

Thank you so much.

Thank . Everyone is so kind and helpful.

Very pretty and worth working through.

I noticed a correction on the Ravelry comments for some sizes. Your pattern may already have had these corrections made:
BACK
Sizes X-Small (Medium, XL) are correct.
Sizes Small (Large, 2X) Only - on each Dec Row 8 (10, 12) sts will be decreased: