Wide Neck Problem

I am knitting a baby sweater and the neck is suppose to be 106 stitches but the waist is only 92. The neck is HUGE! Is there any way to fix this? It just doesn’t look right.
It also says to graft the underarm seams. I’ve never done that before so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
Jenni:knitting:

Babies have huge heads compared to the rest of their body, so it may not be so far off. How is the neckline - open with a placket or folds over in some way?

Grafting can be done either with a 3 needle bind off or by kitchener stitch.

There are 4 rounds of K1,P1 rib and then 8 rounds of K.
Is there a video on the grafting or kitchner?
Thanks!

Here is the link for kitchener under “seaming.”

Did you pick up stitches for the neck or what? Is it made top down or bottom up? Cardigan or pull over?

Yeah, which pattern is it?

Thanks for the link.

It was a bottom up pull over. I did have to pick up stitches.

The pattern is a in a Coats & Clark / Red Heart pattern booklet. Number 0729-4K.

So did they tell you to pick up 106 stitches? I usually don’t pay much attention to what they tell me to pick up any more. :slight_smile: Did you use a needle 2 sizes smaller than the one you used for the sweater? Usually you do on neck bands. And I would do it here.