Why do my stitches look like this?

Absolute beginner question here. I am on my 5th knitting project, a hat for my toddler.

I am trying a very simple pattern that only requires knitting one row then purling the next. I noticed something funny about my stitches. For each row, one “leg” of the stitch is longer than the other. On the next row, it’s the other way around.

First I tried changing how I pull the thread through. I realized I was pulling the yarn backwards on the purled rows but doing it correctly didn’t seem to fix the one leg longer problem but it did fix the problem of the yarn going sort of flat where each ply was coming undone on the needle. My purled rows also still seem a tiny bit looser (taller?) than the knit rows. I’m using Lion brand wool ease in a worsted weight.

I never noticed it before because I used yarns with lots of fuzz. The last thing I made with the “normal” yarn was an illusion knit scarf so there was a big variation in the knit/purl rows so I never could tell.

Is this a case of having to sit down with someone who knows what they’re doing so they can tell me what I’m doing wrong? The good thing is that everything’s very neat and consistent on each row so something is working kinda. :slight_smile:

the last time i tried to explain how i purled people gave me the :?? look but let me try again.

When i first started I purled by bringing the working yarn behind and over the right hand needle. It made knitting into the stitch on the row back difficult but i just thought that was how it was.

I saw someone say that the purl stitch should be just as easy as the knit and went to watch amy’s video on purling. That was when i noticed she wraps her work from the front to the back of the right hand needle. Essentially i was twisting my stitches.

as soon as I stopped doing that, the longer leg went away.