Why can't I ever get the right gauge?

I’ve been knitting for a few years now, mostly did scarfs and purses… things I didn’t worry too much about gauge… Now that I am more in to socks and hats etc… things that actually have to fit someone, I am finding that I have a serious problem with NEVER getting the right gauge.
Example:
If the pattern says 5 st.= 1 inch… I use the same needles the pattern says and the same weight yarn and my gauge is off. I change to the next size up or down and it’s still off…
also, in the rare chance i do get the proper gauge I knit the socks and they still are the wrong size.

my questions are

1. Is it possible that I knit so differently than every knitter in the world and may never find the right gauge to knit a pair of socks that would fit a human foot?

2. Is it possible that cheap yarn gives you a different gauge than good wool yarn that I cannot afford, that most patterns I want to knit call for?

3. is there any help for me?

I don’t know, but you can come sit next to me because I’m having the same frustrations.
(I think I am going to have to make my own 0000000000 needles if there’s going to be any hope at all!)

Well, It’s nice to know I am not alone in this… I was beginning to wonder if I was the only one that knit socks that would only fit BigFoot… and sadly I dont know any Big Foots :frowning:

or should I have said Big Feet??

I was going to go to the yarn store today and show the owner in hopes she could enlighten me, but now I feel too sick to move. so there goes another week, I think - but if I end up managing to go anyway, I’ll post you.

If you get a pattern which has different directions for different sizes you can use those if your gauge isn’t perfect. For example, I just made a pair of mittens using the directions for child size because I knew from the way my gauge was off that if I made it in ladies size they would be gargantuan. And they fit perfectly!
xxx