What's up with needle gauges?

Hello, I am trying to knit my first project, it is a baby blanket. The pattern I am using has a couple of things that confuse me. First, and keep in mind that I am a total noob, If the pattern calls for # 15 needles what difference does it make if i use # 10 1/2. Also it said “Note: Yarn is held double throughout.” I have no idea what that means. I know I am probably asking dumb questions, but I just taught myself to knit using this site a couple days ago and have no one to ask. I am having my first child around March 5th and want this done for his birth, so I am eager to get started. Thanks so much, and God bless.

A size 15 needle is quite a bit bigger than a 10.5. What this means is that the 10.5 will produce a tighter and smaller fabric than a 15 would if you knit both using the same yarn.

The best way to find out if this is okay is to knit a sample swatch and see if it behaves like you want the blanket to behave, but if you’re using the yarn the pattern specifies, unless you knit REALLY LOOSELY it’s very unlikely that you will get a satisfactory result.

“Yarn is held double throughout” means you will knit with 2 strands at once instead of just one. Sometimes you can knit the same pattern with a single strand and a smaller needle, and just add more stitches/rows to make up for the fact that it will be smaller, but it will look different, and the best way to see if you will like it is by knitting a swatch.

The simplest way to solve this problem is to acquire or borrow some size 15 needles and follow the pattern exactly. But if this isn’t an option, I would try it with a single strand and the smaller needles and improvise to get the size how I wanted it.

so… would I use two balls of yarn to hold double throughout? Sorry for the stupid questions.