What to look for in good quality needles

Hi Knitters!

I am fairly new to knitting and have mostly collected needles from thrift stores (craft stores, etc.), but was wondering what to look for in good quality knitting needles (circular and DPNs too). The general quality of both the needles and the plastic tubing in circulars is of course fairly obvious, but what about the smaller details? For example; are bamboo needles really the best? (I’ve used wood and aluminum needles and I like the feel of the wood better, but they are harder to find than aluminum). I don’t know exactly what I’m asking, I suppose, but I wanted to know if there were any big things (in the smaller details :wink: ) that were really important or made a big difference. I would also like to know about any really good (slightly reasonable :sweat_smile:) brands to trust. Thank you for reading, and I hope you have some extra expertise to share :slight_smile:.