What am i doing wrong?

Hi everyone. I’m Misty. I’m brand new to knitting. I’m 17 inches into my first scarf. It is a knit one row, then purl one knit one row repeated until it measures 49 inches. I’m having a problem with it.
It lays flat on the bottom, but about half way up it is starting to curl inward toward the wrong side. It is also measuring about an inch shorter than at the bottom. Am i working too tight? Or is it an inconsistency problem? Or is it something else?

Welcome!

You aren’t doing anything wrong. It’s the nature of stockinette to curl and it’s difficult to stop it. A wide border on the edge in a non curling stitch helps, but even then it sometimes folds along the line between border and stockinette. Basically you need to just do the best you can and accept it.

Welcome to KH. I’m not clear on how you’re doing this. Are you doing alternating knit and purl rows which makes stockinette stitch and it curls just because it does, or are you doing a knit row, a row of k1, p1 across, then another knit row? Having a piece wider at the start could mean that your tension has changed and you’re knitting tighter now.

Thank you Jan. I am following a pattern from “I Taught Myself Knitting” It’s just called 2. Hat & Scarf. Also, thank you to GG. The 1st row is Knit. The 2nd row is p1, *k1,p1. Rep from * to end. Then repeat these 2 rows until work measures 49 ins from beg.

If it say k1, p1 that is ribbing and shouldn’t curl at all. If it’s knit one row purl one row, knit one row, purl one row that is stockinette and will curl.

Misty1970 :
Thank you very much for taking the time to help. I really appreciate any help and advice i can get.

misty1970:
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. I really appreciate any help and advice i can get.