Trouble Figuring Out an Ultimate Sweater Machine

I recently got a nice deal on a used USM. The person I bought it from online wasn’t the OG owner and didn’t know much about it. I seems like it’s in fairly good shape aside from one rusty needle and all the parts are with it.

I have no personal experience with knitting machines, however this didn’t seem overly complicated, I understand the principles of how it’s SUPPOSED to work, and I like to think I’m reasonably intelligent. I’ve gone over the directions thoroughly several times checking and rechecking each step, but I cannot get the thing to work smoothly. Something “just doesn’t feel right.”

The biggest issue seems to be that the carriage is just REALLY HARD to push across the row. And after every row the needles are out of alignment and have to be reset. Sometimes it just jams ouright and I have to take it apart because I don’t want to force it so hard something breaks.

I am not using the “yarn it came with” of course because I don’t have that. But I am using a smooth, new, worsted acrylic yarn and I doubt that’s the issue.

Some of the little hinged thingeys on the ends of the needle hooks are a little sticky/don’t easily flip back all the way. I’m not sure how critical that is or what to do about it other than work them back and forth a bit, but that should have nothing to do with the carriage being able to move the needles.

The only thing I can think of is that there is a strip of foam underneath the retaining bars, which makes the needles slide less easily. However the instructions manual says nothing about removing this (doesn’t mention it at all). And when I tried removing it, the needles seem really loose and tended to rattle around more than it seemed like they should, and that doesn’t seem to work well either, which is why I put it back in.

I’m lost. And confused. Any suggestions or advice? TIA! :slight_smile: