Toe Up Sock problem (help!)

Hello everyone! first off, I’ve been knitting for several months now, but have not doing anything harder than knit purl.

I am determined to knit socks, and I am just as determined to do it Toe Up, even if that’s unwise given that I don’t even know how to knit socks yet.

For the most part, I am using Judy’s Magic Cast On with DNPs. The problem is, I’m having trouble with the increases. This is the umpteenth time I’ve ripped and started the sock over, the first few were when I was trying Figure Eight Toe.

The problem is always the same. When I do the k, m1, k to end/k to end, m1, k, I don’t like how… huge the increase band is, and the M1 stitches always stick out more than the regular stitches. So I tried having the M1 the last stitch on the needles. Tried various combinations of this, and for he most part got the same problem with the M1 stich being annoyingly large in comparison. And now I have this problem.

This picture is with two M1s right next to each other each round (one on each needle). It’s more stretched out than it was before I started trying to fix it, and then took the picture, but even more I was pulling on it, it was unacceptable.

Is there anything I can do to to mend the giant M1 loop problem? Is there another way to increase without getting the large band running down the sides? Or a way to make that smaller? Any help would be wonderful!

what kind of increase are you doing? have you tried different methods?

The make 1 increase does leave a small hole. If you don’t like it, try kfb (knit front and back) and see if you like that better. There will still be a bit of a ridge, but it should look a little better.

Also, the stitches will distribute a bit better as the sock grows in length. Right now there is a lot of pressure in that area mucking up the visual.

Keep us posted on your progress! :heart: