Toe up ankle socks

I wanted to see if anyone can help me out. I am a beginner knitter and want to knit my first pair of socks. I need a pattern where I can use 2.25 40" circular needles. I found that I don’t like the look of the after thought heel. I want to be able to use the magic loop method.
I will greatly appreciate any help provided :grinning:

Wish i could help but i have never attempted socks. Sorry!

Thank you

I like Silver’s Sock Class as a good beginner (and more experienced knitter too) explanation.
http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/
Liat Gat is also very clear and cheery.

1 Like

My standard recommendations:
Lifestyle Toe Up Socks - No Swatch Needed with a short row heel, no gusset; and Straight Up Socks with a gusset and Fleegle heel. Your first pair can fit and then you tweak it to fit even better. Both can be done with any yarn, any needles. No swatching is maybe the best part, the toe will tell you if you have enough sts/in and you can even switch to larger or smaller needles as you go.

I made my first pair in worsted weight yarn to get sock knitting out of my system, after all, I couldn’t knit socks. I moved on to working with fingering weight yarn and had already learned a cast on and some of the other things I wasn’t used to came much easier because I’d already done them with bigger needles and thicker yarn. I just finished another pair and will cast on for the next soon. I’m still trying to get sock knitting out of my system. lol

ETA Liat’s pattern’s are good. I learned one of my favorite heels, a faux heel flap, from her pattern for toe up heel flap socks. Good link, salmonmac!

1 Like

Thank you, I also need to know how to make it a ankle and no show sock. Do I just stop short of where I want the ribbing to start and how would I make it a no show sock?

GG, that’s a good one too.