Swatch size off

My first sweater project - 16 st 24 rows should be 4 x 4 bu mine comes out 4 x 4.5. 16st is OK but I need less rows with this yarn and needle size. Can anyone tell me how to adjust for this. Is it the size of the needle? I really need to follow the instructions regarding #rows because I’m a beginner. Thanks in advance.

You may not be able to match both rows and sts. The crucial fig is sts. (Unless the patt has some kind of design feature to where not having the exact number of rows will really throw things off.) More often than not you can work around the row count because most patterns ask you to knit for X number of inches, rather than rows. What is the pattern?

cam

Random stripes pullover sweater. It says skill level easy and is from Knitting Digest. I got it from one of the free pattern links. It does give measurements for the finished pieces, the front & back would be easy to drop the # of rows but the sleeves might be beyond my skill level right now.

Random stripes pullover sweater. It says skill level easy and is from Knitting Digest.

The exact name of the pattern is ‘Random Stripes Pullover’? (Didn’t find a match via google for that.) I found one on freepatterns.com called ‘Striped Boatneck Pullover.’ Is that the one? If so, I can see where the need to match the stripes is important but the diff in gauge would be the same in the body and sleeves. If not, a link or pic would be helpful.

Have you tried changing your ndl by one sz to see how much diff that makes?

cam

here is pattern link http://www.freepatterns.com/list.html?cat_id=366
Hope it works. I am using size 8’s to swatch (pattern calls for 7’s, yarn calls for 9’s so I guessed in between)