SW and Turn

So I’ve been working on a pair of baby socks (pattern by Lion Brand) and once again, in their infinite plan to confuse the public, Lion Brand has made what could be a fairly simple explanation for a stitch really confusing.

I’m not new to reading patterns by any means, but I am new to this type of turning the heel. The explanation given on the pattern is no help for the slip stitch, wrap, and turn deal. I had to look elsewhere online to understand how this process was actually done. Ok, so the wrapping isn’t confusing me anymore; what is confusing me is when the pattern says continue sw&t to the stitch right before the previous wrap. Ugh, I just don’t see how this is supposed to help turn the heel. Did they just overly confuse me and mean to say something to the effect of purling and knitting two stitches together? :gah:

It should work, just differently. I’d keep going and see how it looks.

Hi, Wildfire,
I have never joined a Forum before, so please bear with me. I think I am working on the same Lion baby sock pattern that you mention in your post. I have looked high and low in my books and on-line for an explanation of SW (slip and wrap) and also to no avail. Would you please be so kind as to share with me how you found out how to execute the stitch properly? Thank you so much.

Welcome to KH & even though I’m not Wildfire: http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/advanced-techniques

This is a video on How to do Wraps and Turns. (It is way down the page)

I don’t think I can explain it at all, but I learned the technique while doing this pattern, and between the pattern instructions and the video posted above by knit2betied, I found it fairly easy. Well, honestly, I couldn’t see how it was going to work out until it did, but I was able to follow the directions and have it come out right. Hope this helps!

Welcome to the forums =)