Storage/organization ideas?

I’m new to knitting and slowly building up my supply collection. I only have 4-1/2 skeins of yarn right now, but see that changing in the very near future because of all of the ideas that are in my had. I also have one set of size 8 single point needles, and then two sets of bamboo needles on the way from Amazon.com (a set of 18 single point and a set of 18 circular) and also plan on ordering some longer circular in the near future. The needles that I ordered were very inexpensive, but I just didn’t have the money to spend a lot right now and figure from here on out I can just slowly replace what I need to or add to my Xmas list for Santa to get me a better set.

(Straight Needles

Circular needles)

I am having surgery in two weeks which is why I am stocking up now— I plan on biding my time with knitting and have a few projects in mind.

Now, to my real question: How would you recommend I store all of this? I don’t believe the needles come with any sort of case and I don’t know where to begin to find something to keep all of them in. I’d also like something portable to put the yarn in, at least a few skeins, for traveling, going to the hospital, etc.

What would you, oh wise ones, suggest? :knitting:

I like to let circular needles hang in an organizer like this one. If you can sew, it should be very easy to make a prettier one than this one.
http://www.dellaq.com/p/hanging-circular-needle-organizer
This way the cables hang and it minimizes the tendency to coil in a tight circle. It would also work for straight needles and double points.
There are also needle cases like this that are more portable and neat for single points and dpns.
http://www.joann.com/artbin-hook-and-needle-case/7350416.html?gclid=CLflgZn-qs4CFclZhgodsBoOLw