Stitches

Hello
I am new to knitting and to this site. My daughter and I have just recently started knitting. My question is: my pattern called for me to cast on 34 stitches and now after a few rows I have 39. How did that happen? What can I do about it?
Dana

dont worry this a common problem with new knitters. At the top of this forum you will see a thread dedicated to extra mystery stitches. It normally happens when you are first starting out because you are either accidently wrapping the yarn around the needle then knitting into it thinking it is a stitch or because you are inserting the needle into the wrong pattern of the stitch and creating extra loops. Dont worry with a bit of practice the problem goes away

Yes, extra stitches are common for new knitters. There can be many reasons, but often it’s because you forgot to move the yarn back between the needles to knit after doing a purl. Check the thread in the sticky list at the top of the forum list to see if you can figure it out. You can also post a picture of the problem. See the link in my signature or at the top of the forum in What’cha Knittin’ about how to post photos.

Thank you for your help, I’ll check the mystery stitches out and the sticky list. See what I can figure out. Thank you again.
dana

I’ve been knitting for awhile, and still get ‘freeloaders’ from time to time (mystery stitches)… especially late at night… after I’ve been drinking… a little… just a tiny… hicc’cup bit… :knitting: :knitting: :mrgreen:

[FONT=“Georgia”][B][I][COLOR=“Navy”]Hey All,