spinning wheel

Hi everyone, Just bought an old spinning wheel when I was in Tasmania. I was told it was in working order but I have never used one before. could anyone help me with getting to know my spinning wheel as I would like to start using it. I think it is broken but I have the part that is broken off and I’m not sure what type of spinning wheel it is. thanks in advance. Hellsbells

Hi and welcome!
Can you post a couple of photos of the spinning wheel and the broken part? I’m sure that would help @mullerslanefarm, who will be able to help, I’m sure.

Hope these pictures help with my questions.
Regards
Hellsbells

1 Like

Hey @hellsbells, Congrats on the new wheel.

You have a castle style wheel but I am unsure of who made it.

The flyer arm is broken. That’s not a huge deal. Many wheels are still functional with only one flyer arm. It is highly recommended that you do NOT just glue the arm back on to the flyer.

Spinning with a flyer where an arm is glued on is dangerous! Glue doesn’t always hold well, they dry out over time, etc. Next thing you know, you have a projectile hurled from your wheel that was going a massive rpm.

You will also need to add a couple more hooks on the existing arm so your yarn can load on to the whole bobbin.

1 Like

thank you for letting me know what type of spinning wheel I have. The wheel itself has rope on it, is this ok, or should I try to get wire or something. I have noticed that when I use the peddle it is rather stiff and sometimes does not move the flyer arm. Should I oil top and bottom of the peddle arm? Any other suggestions would be most appreciated. I still have the other end of the flyer arm so I can put the hooks from that onto the one that is still attached. :slight_smile: thank you.