Sock edge

[color=green]I’m making the heel of my sock. I’m following a pattern I got with the yarn I bought.

The only problem is, I dont know how to pick up the stitches on the sides of the heel. The pattern I have says to knit the first stitch, where the other patterns I have seen on the web say to slip the first stitch. Is this going to be a problem later on? The pattern came with the yarn. It should work right?

Then how do you pick up the stitches if they are not slipped?[/color]

there is a video in the basic techniques section that explains how to do that :happydance: lol ellie

Is it a mattress stitch that is used then?

I’m a noob knitter!

If you go here and scroll down to the bottom third of the page you will see a link to the video for picking up stitches. easy peasy!

It is not a mattress stitch. It’s a method of producing “live” stitches along either a side edge (as in the case of a heel flap) or along a cast on edge. The video is found here under “assorted topics”, about 3/4 way down the page.

I suspect that if your pattern tells you to knit the first stitch of the heel flap rows, that it tells you to slip the last stitch. Yes? No? If that’s the case, it produces the same result in the end.

No, it ends with a knit on each side…

But I’ve got my heel! I’m not so sure how to go about the gusset though. I dont know how to pick up the stitches on the side so that I end up with the right number. I’m so proud! I have a heel. This is the first thing I’ve tried beyond scarves and its coming along alot better than I thought it would. Though I have a feeling the end product is going to be a tiny bit baggy.

This is both hard and easy at the same time! Once you figure things out its pretty easy. Until then its like :??