Simple scarf pattern help...I can't figure this out!

I am trying to knit a scarf from a pattern that seems pretty simple, but I am either reading it wrong, or it is missing something.

I have never used a chart before, but I watched a bunch of videos on decoding them. But this one looks very different from the rest I’ve seen, since every row has an odd row number-- there are no even rows. And when I compare it to the written pattern, it doesn’t seem to match. If I’m reading it right, some of the knits should be purls. So I tried to just use the written pattern, but I’m not sure if it is correct, and row 20 is missing so I couldn’t use that anyway. And if I can’t read the chart correctly then I couldn’t get row 20 from that either.

I am so confused. Can a more experienced knitter please take a look and give me some advice? Am I missing something?

Thank you!

Welcome!
The chart for the pattern doesn’t tell you that the even rows should be knit as the stitches present themselves. That means that on an even row, knit the V-looking knit stitches and purl the bumps. The 3 sts at each edge are always knit on either the odd or even rows.
You’ll be able to see this as you work a few rows of the pattern. The columns of Vs or bumps will be easier to read. You can fill in chart row 20 this way. By the time you get to it, you’ll be a pro.
Work the yo as if to purl. That’s what most patterns recommend so you might as well get in the habit. It doesn’t matter here since the sts are eventually dropped.

But on the chart, it says a dash is knit on odd rows, and purl on even rows if I’m reading this correctly. But in the written instructions, these are listed as knits on all rows. So which is correct? If I can’t make sense of that, then I won’t be able to translate the pattern correctly for row 20.