Shaping shoulders and back neck

http://a.allaboutyou.com/pattern/47097.pdf

Hello, it’s my first time at knitting a vest and I’m a complete noob at reading patterns (see link above). I’m at the stage of shaping the shoulders and back neck and I’m stuck. Can someone please help me with the following questions?

“Cast off 6 sts at beg of next 4 rows. 54 sts”

• do I cast off 6 sts at the beginning and then rib to the end and repeat that another 3 times?

“Cast off 6 sts, k until there are 8 sts on the right needle, turn and complete this side first”

• cast off 6 and knit 8 sts, this is a total of 13 sts? What does it mean by turn?

“Cast off 3 sts at beg (neck edge) of next row. Cast off rem 5 sts. With RS facing, rejoin yarn to rem sts, cast off centre 26 sts and work to end of row. Work to match first side, reversing shaping”

• what does this mean?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Good looking vest. Thanks for the link to the pattern.
1.Yes, cast off 6sts, rib to the end of the row and repeat 3 times more.
2.Cast off 6sts. This will leave one stitch on the right hand needle. Now knit 7 more sts for a total of 8sts on the right needle. Turn as you would at the end of a row and work back on the 8sts.
3.The first step on these sts is to cast off 3sts at the neck edge. Finish the row and then cast off the remaining 5sts, leave about a 6 inch tail and cut the yarn from the ball…
Now, with the RS facing attach the end of the yarn (again leaving about a 6 inch tail) and cast off the center 26sts, work to the end of the row. Then shape as for the first shoulder.

Thanks! It finally makes sense now :slight_smile:

for 3. Cast off 3 sts at beg (neck edge) of next row. Cast off rem 5 sts. There are only a total of 8 stitches on this side, so do I just cast off all in one go?

Cast off the 3sts at the neck edge, finish the row, turn and cast off 5sts.
Glad it’s making sense. If you run into another question, come back and we’ll all try to help.