Shaping armholes

Hi,

I am really new to knitting and so far only knitted a hat and some booties for my baby girls. I am now attempting to knit a vest. I know my question is pretty basic. Here is what the pattern tells me to do:

So I understand that I need to continue with the pattern and the casting off of sts is clear. I am not sure how to decrease 1 sts at the end of every row. So that would be my first question, how do you decrease a sts at the end of a row?.
My second question is what does every foll alt row mean?
Last question is, does ws mean wrong side?

Thank you

On one side of the row, k2tog. On the other side, ssk. I usually do this a couple of stitches in (so…k2, k2tog). Then knit in pattern to the last 4 stitches and ssk, k2. Do this each of 2 rows. After that, you knit 3 more rows doing the same decrease on the first of the 3 rows and the 3rd of the 3 rows.

1 Like

I forgot to describe those 2 stitches. Not sure how new you are to knitting. K2tog is knit two stitches together as if they were one stitch. SSK is slip 2 stitches knit-wise and knit both together through the loops on the back of the needle. One leans to the left and the other leans to the right. (I can never remember which).
Here is a video if you need it.

Yes, every following alternate row is every other row and ws is indeed, wrong side. Which size are you making?
Good for you for venturing out into a vest.

Armholes are tough for me it was the hardest thing to learn!

Wonderful, thank you for that explanation. So just to make sure that I understood correctly. Because now I am a bit confused. So the first 2 rows I simply cast off 4 sts at the beginning of the row right?
Than the next two rows I K2 than K2tog at the beginning of each row and at the end I do the ssk which you sent me a video for and then K2? So when they say dec 1 sts at each end of row it means actually to decent 1 sts in the beginning and one in the end? That’s confusing.