Shape armhole

Hi, knitting newbie here …
I have 77 st on the needle when I start the shape armhole.
Now I need to do the following:

Dec 1 st at armhole edge of next 5 rows, then on foll 11 alt rows and at same time working decreases as set, dec 1 st at front slope edge of next and 1 foll 6th rows, then on 2 foll 8th rows.

57 st
It is from the Rowan pattern Skylark.
What means working decreases as set?

I have been writing down what to do on every row but I dont get to 57 at all :frowning:
Hope somebody can help me out :100:

Maybe this one:

“As set” refers to the placement of the decreases across the row. In earlier rows the pattern must have told you where to place the front slope decreases (for example, one stitch in from the edge, or two sts in or 6sts in).

There are 20 decreases total in the directions you quote so that’ll take you from 77 to 57sts.
If you call the next row, row 1 then you dec at the armhole edge on rows 1,2,3,4 and 5 then rows 7,9,11,13,15 and so on until 11 of these alternate row decreases have been made.
At the front slope, dec on row 1, then row 7 and finally rows 15 and 23.

Thank you so much, your have helped me so much.
Have a lovely day!

1 Like

Hi Salmonmac,
Could you maybe recommend me a knitting book that teaches me more about decreases and increases; when to use which decrease/ increase and where to use it if a patterns says decrease X amount of stiches. When to use of left or right leaning etc. I would love to know more about it.
Before this pattern I am knitting now I only knitted from patterns that told me exactly where and what kind of decrease to use.
Thank you

I like “The Knitting Answer Book” in general for how-tos. Otherwise, there are some dependable web sites, Very Pink (Stacy Perry) and the videos on KnittingHelp compare decreases. Roxanne Roberts, Liat Gat, Knit Purl Hunter and undoubtedly others I’m not thinking of are good site.