Self Taught Knitters

For those who taught themselves how to knit, what are some best practices you can offer to those wanting to self teach?

I am still new and consider myself a self taught knitter. I decided to jump right into advanced projects versus easier ones in order to immerse myself into the world of knitting a little better . The advanced projects forced me to research and learn various types of stitches as well as learn how to read knitting patterns.

I have since completed a sweater and a pair of mittens that had a cable pattern. After starting with advanced jprojects I have found it much easier to read just about any pattern

What would you “self taught knitters suggest to new and aspiring self taught knitters?

I am a self taught knitter. What I did was to try stitch patterns when ever I saw a stitch pattern I liked. My first knitted item was a baby blanket for my High school teacher in my senior year. The blanket had outlined set of boxes that started after the border until halfway done and then you decreased in the pattern to make the outlined other half of the boxes.

3 Likes

Sounds really cool! Do you have a picture of the blanket ? Would love to see it

Self-taught here as well. My first attempt years ago was a disaster so I didn’t keep it up.

But about five years ago, I saw a friend knitting and said something about it. She suggested I take a look at the Stitch 'N Bitch book, which I did. Read it cover to cover and tried again. My first project? I always say looks like it was made by a demented kindergartener. Horrible. But I learned from it and the biggest thing for me I learned from the book was that there was more than one way to hold the yarn. Took up continental and never looked back. (Although, I have learned English as well so I could do two colors in two hands.)