Seed stitch in the round confusion

Hi all,

I’m knitting a super chunky seed stitch jumper in the round, which I’ve never done before. The pattern I’m using calls for casting on an even number of stitches (62) on 12mm circular knitting needles, then 5 rounds of 1x1 ribbing before switching to 15mm circular needles and doing 30 rounds of seed stitch. (See attached for screenshot)image

I’m on my fifth round of seed stitch now but it’s not looking like seed stitch to me. Ive been doing a round of k1, p1 repeated then a round of p1 k1 repeated. Am I doing this right? Is just the chunky yarn and large needles that throwing me off? Please see attached picture if work so far!

Kind Regards,
Emma

It does look as though you’ve gotten off on the pattern. Check that you still have an even number of sts. The pattern should work out as given but really, the best way to work this is to read your knitting. If you see a V, purl it. If you see a bump, knit it. That way, you won’t go wrong.
Can you give us a pattern name? Is it a cardigan and is it really knit in rounds?

Hi Salmonmac,

Many thanks for your reply! Indeed, I think I’ll have to go back a few rows and redo the seed stitch. The pattern I’m following is KNITSAFARI’s seed bomber jacket pattern:

But it is quite in clear when to switch between in the round and knitting flat. The only information given for starting the project is the above attachment for the body panel and the below description on using circular needles.

I’d upload the whole pattern if it weren’t a lisenced and paid product.
I assumed I needed to start off in the round for the ribbing as she writes: 1. With 12mm knitting needles, cast on 54 (62, 70) stitches using the long tail cast on technique. Work in 1x1 rib for 5 rounds.

I’ve then continued to work in the round for the second step: 2. Change to 15mm knitting needles, and work in seed stitch for 30 rows.

Should I not be working in the round for this second step?

Kind Regards,
Emma

Hello Emma;