Roding by Sarah Hatton

Hello all! First, I want to thank everyone at this community. I’ve read through a few of the threads and I love how helpful and welcoming everyone is when answering questions. I don’t feel intimidated to ask my newbie question.

I suffer from “run before I walk” syndrome and although I’ve completed a few simple projects, this may be a little advanced for my skill set. I am currently knitting the Roding sweater by Sarah Hatton in small and I’m completely new at shaping shoulders and neck. Here’s where I’m confused (my questions in bold):

(Also, I currently have 52 stitches)

RS Cast off 6 st, patt until there are 9 sts on right needle and turn, leaving rem sts on a holder (so there are essentially 37 stitches on the holder?)

Work each side of neck separately
Cast off 3 sts at beg of row
Cast off rem 6 sts
With RS facing, slip centre 22 sts onto a holder, rejoin yarn and patt to end

This is where I’m lost. Do I cast off all 9 stitches in one go?

Do I slip 22 stitches from the first holder onto another holder? And what does she mean by the center 22 sts? This would also mean I have 15 sts left on holder 1, so do I just cast off all 9 sts?

Thank you in advance!

Hello
Although some patterns are obviously more advanced and harder than others, I do kind of think that when it comes to advancing skills you do just kind of have to jump in. There’s probably nothing between flat scarf and sweater neck shaping as an inbetween. …so just ask when you get stuck. Thia site is great isn’t it. I’m new too, learning from reading other people’s questions.

RS 52 stitches

Yes that’s it. You have used up 15 stitches.