Reading a Pattern-Please reassure me!

This may just be me being paranoid, but I was hoping you could reassure me that I am reading my pattern correctly. I am knitting a lace cowl neck on a sweater and the instructions read:

"…Turn collar inside out to reverse the RS and WS, and work 9 [COLOR=red]horizontal reps[/COLOR] from chart B.

Work rows 1-29 of chart, then purl 1 rnd and BO all sts loosely kw."

Chart B is a 10 st repeat and total stiches otn are 90.

I am unsure of the part in red - this is the only place in the pattern that the author refers to horizontal reps instead of rows. I interpreted this to mean “work rows 1-9 of chart B then rows 1-29 of chart B” Does this sound right? TIA!

well…you’re a senior member…and i’m a newb! so I wouldn’t take my word! lol

but ‘reps’ seems like it would be ‘repeats’ to me…

but again…I wouldn’t listen to ,e!:shrug:

Hi,

To me “horizontal repeat” sounds like rows. Rows run
horizontally so logically a horizontal repeat is a row…
:slight_smile:
Libbie

Okay, this is what I thought. I’m sure it can’t mean to repeat the chart 9 times as that would be 250+ rows - way too many for a collar! and one pattern repeat 9x across doesn’t make sense either as there is no specification as to which row of the chart to do, so I guess the best asumption would be 9 rows of the pattern, then start the chart over and do the full 28 rows.

Thanks gargoylelib and knit.newbie for your input. If anyone else has other opinions let me know…

I would read it as doing the 10-stitch repeat 9 times for 29 rows.

Thanks for your reply Ingrid. The chart is for a lace pattern which is 28 rows “long”. Are you saying you would do first row’s 10 st repeat all the way across and then start the chart with the 1st row again and continue through to row 28? That doesn’t feel quite right either :gah: