Ran out of Room on Needle!

Hello All! I am Elaine, I am new to this forum and look forward to seeing everyones posts! I am a beginner knitter and have run out of room on my 14inch straight needle. I cannot find any longer and have no idea how to continue my project when I cannot fit any more yarn on the needle. What am I supposed to do? :knitting:

Use a circular needle. They can be used for flat or in the round. They are all I use now. The length depends on what it is your knitting.

What are you knitting? What weight yarn? A link would be helpful, too.

Circular needles are really handy for big projects. When you make an afghan or a long sweater, you can lay most of the work in your lap and take the weight off your arms and hands. Everybody has a favorite kind. I happen to like bamboo.

Hang onto your straights, though–they’ll still come in handy for smaller work.

I followed the directions of the book which told me which needles to use. I am using the fine thread. Unfortunately I threw out the label but its very thin and fine. Im making a scarf which said to cast on 178 stitches however there are thing to do to make it longer during the process and I ran out of room. I dont understand why the book would say to use a straight needle and then run out of room. I will look into the circular needle.

Thanks for the tips I will be sure to include the pattern and weight of yarn next time. As far as links I usually read from books so I will include the book names?

Welcome to KH!
Yes, book names are helpful and pattern names, too. Sometimes just seeing a photo of the item can help.
Have you counted you sts.to make sure that you’re not inadvertently increasing without realizing it?

I’m going to take a guess that your pattern book is 1960’s or 1970’s. Published in the days [I]before circular knitting needles [/I] were available, or even common. The pattern telling you to use 14" straights was the possibly only option available.