Questions about making my first sweater

Hello to everyone,

I’m new to this board. I’ve lurked before but never posted.

I have some questions for all you out there who’ve had experience knitting a garment before.

I’ve been knitting for a couple of years now on and off. My first completed project was a bulky yarn baby sweater I gave as a gift. It turned out okay (although I won’t get into the impracticality of the sweater for a baby or the whole knitting for gifts thing :oops:), but since then I’ve been nervous about trying a sweater project for myself due to time commitment, cost, etc. Mainly I’ve done felting projects which don’t require much attention to detail. Now I think I’m ready to tackle something more and want to make a vest (not ready for arms yet!). What scares me is when I hear about how other people spent all this time to knit their sweater only to find they had problems with their garments fitting correctly or the yarn they used did not hold up well.

What am wondering is what things should I consider before I even start my vest? Anything I should think about when picking a pattern? I have some trouble strictly following patterns so would it be a mistake at this point to tweak a pattern to my own design or even design my own pattern? If the gauge is correct are the patterns usually true to size? Anything I should think about yarnwise before spending a lot of money on yarn?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Kristen

I have found that with your first knitted top, stick with the pattern as it is. I got cocky and changed some minor things on a lovely tank top (click the Tahki link below to see what I mean) thinking that it would make it better. :doh:

GAUGE GAUGE GAUGE. I hate gauge, but you have to get it. I got stitch gauge right on with the tank, but the rows were slightly off. (Which I compensated for in the wrong direction).

Find a pattern that you can easily read.