Question on patter & stiches

http://www.straw.com/cpy/patterns/decoscarf1patt.html

This is the pattern I am attempting. This is my first time using perling also (sp?). I understand what it is saying, but when I try it, it doesn’t work. As I flip the needle to start another row, it leaves a protrusion so to speak. So it is suppose to stay indented for the perling, but I have indented, not indented (but is on opp. side) then indented. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?

I want to help but i’m not sure i understand. Your bricks should alternate between indented and not indented blocks and that’s what i think you’ve come up with. Can you explain it in a different way? The fabric won’t come out flush it should have indented pieces. Try explaining it again and maybe we’ll figure it out.

There are not blocks… So I’ll try symbols… - equals not indented and _ equals indented…

so it is —----------
then --------
-------------
then —
----------

On the oppsite side it shows up like

--------_____-----_____--------
 ---_____-----_____-----_____---
 --------_____-----_____----------

It should show up more like
----------
----------

I am doing what the pattern says, by the even rows this and the odd rows that… But the indent shows up on the oppsite side then I need it to. Does that help? So it should be a row of indented then another below that is indented to create the box. Mine does indtend not indented then indented. The indented side I am trying for does show up on the oppsite side. I could just be perling wrong…

What your pattern is telling you to do is, aside from the 3 knit stitches on each side (which creates your garter stitch border), you are purling into the back side of the knit stitches and knitting into the back side of the purl stitches which will create the bricks of stockinette - some with knit side(smooth) face up and some with the purl side(bumpy) face up.

Remember, the 3 stitches on each side are always [B]knit[/B], never purled.