Question for Jan, mostly, about magic loop

In a previous post, I read this: > Magic loop!! Or two circulars. I use circular needles for flat knitting and most circular knitting. The only thing I use DPNs for are very small things. For hats I always use magic loop (which is done on one long circular) so I don’t have to switch to another method to close the top

Jan, can you tell me more about this? As a beginner, I have been watching videos about magic loop and I have yet to be brave enough to try it. If you are making a hat and you start to decrease, how do you switch to magic loop in the middle of the project? I’d love to try it on the next hat I make but right now I don’t know enough about it.
Thanks,
Pauline

Hi Pauline,

If you’ve started the hat with magic loop you don’t need to switch to any other needles. That’s the beauty of the method. You cast on, knit, then decrease and close all with the same needles.

The “loop” in magic loop is created from the extra cable loop that is on both ends. I personally prefer a 40" cable for magic loop on hats so I can get a larger double loop. Some people prefer 32". Here’s a \video.

As you can see she’s knitting on the “outside” of the tube which is the best way to learn and do. Occasionally someone knits on the inside and if that happens you can flip it inside out later, but learn the other way if possible because it makes it easier to follow patterns that expect it. The cast and join is probably the hardest part, but there are tricks for that when you decided to try it.
2 Likes

Thank you, Jan. I am book marking this one, for sure. I plan to make some more hats in the round. Hope I can figure it out!

1 Like

One more question: I usually make a hat using a 24 or 26 inch cable needle. Would that mean I would have to change to longer needles when I began the magic loop for the decrease?
Pauline

Just start with the longer cable and magic loop then you don’t need to change needles.