Question about knitting a hat?!

Hi, I am a beginner knitter and was trying to make a hat for my daughter. Everything seemed going right directions until I reached the point where I am supposed to change the color and work in the leaf pattern. I am making it on 4 needles. It just doesnt make no sense anymore, when it notes to turn and so on…I’ll write the pattern and maybe someone will be able to explain how to do it on 3 needles properly.

Change to CC and p 1 rnd.Next rnd p, decreasing 11 sts by working p2tog evenly spaced on rnd.At the end of round cast on 11 sts on the end of needle nr 3.Work in leaf pattern.
Leaf pattern:
row 1: k10, k2tog-b, turn(turn?)
row2: sl1 k/w, k1, yo, k2tog,p2, k5
row3: k2, yo, k1, yo, k2, yo, k2tog, k3, k2tog-b, turn…and so on the pattern goes.

If anyone could help, I would really appreciate it…Thanks!!

When you turn, it’s just like turning at the end of a row when you knit flat. It’s sometimes done in circular knitting and you do the same thing. K10, k2tog tbl then turn and slip 1, k1 yo k2tog, p2, k5, then you would turn again for row 3 I think, and turn. Also, if you have a link to a pattern, or a picture of the hat, it helps.

Thanks for responding so quick. I tried that and it runs out of eyes on 4th row or so…do you think it is pattern mistake then?

Are you sure you’re doing the [B]yo[/B]'s correctly? They are increases, so you should have more stitches to work with on row 4.:think:

You’re probably wrapping the yarn for the YO, knitting a stitch then doing the next st. Don’t do the extra stitch - a YO is just wrapping the yarn. So

Thank You Both! I figured out what I did wrong:) I added fifth needle on my turns to knit back and thats why I ran out of eyes…I hope it’ll work out now…I am not supposed to use 5th needle, right?:slight_smile: Thanks again!

You can use a 5th needle if your set has one. Put the stitches on 4 and use the other to knit with.