Question about circular knitting

I’m still pretty new to knitting and seem to have some weird issues.

When knitting on a circular needle, is it normal for the project to be inside-out? I had a recent issue with a mini stocking Christmas ornament (which was my first attempt at sock-like objects), but set that aside for a bit in frustration. Now I’m working on a bag and having my first attempt at knitting a striped pattern in the round, and the “right side” of the pattern is obviously on the inside, so that the project will have to be turned right-side out when I’m finished.

I don’t see that it’s going to be a problem, but it just seems weird and counter-intuitive, so I wonder if I’m doing something odd that I don’t realize. And I wonder if the bottom of the bag will be on the wrong side.

Here’s the link for what I’m doing, if that helps.
http://www.elann.com/ShowFreePattern.asp?ID=187024

Thanks for any insights.

Blessings,
Lisa R.

when you’re holding your knitting while knitting in the round, imagine that it’s the rim of a cup. Your needles (where you should be knitting) should be on the side closest to you, where you’d take a drink from. Or, Imagine it like a clock, you should be knitting at 12, or the top of the circle. I’m guessing that you’re knitting at 6 or the wrong side of the cup.

When you are ready to join your work in the round, make sure your ‘right side’ (knit side) is facing you or on the outside.

My guess is that you’re just starting to knit on the inside which is no drama really because all you’d have to do is turn it inside out as soon as you realize it.

:muah:

[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=darkorchid]Ah, isn’t it the other way? I knit at 6 o’clock. If I knit at 12 o’clock, I’d be knitting inside out. [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=darkorchid]To knit right side out, with working needles held closest to your body[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][/SIZE][/FONT]