Purling? just can't get it through my head?

:eyes::eyes: I am just learning how to knit… I have mastered the common dishrag…made about 25 of those…would like to make slippers now…but; I have tried and tried to purl and for some reason…I just can’t get itt o make sense to me…HELP!!! Surely I am not the thick in the noggen??? Am I??? thanks.deb

Watch the purling videos on this site. Do you knit English or Continental? Or combined?

Have you tried knitting back backwards?

Purling is just doing the action of knitting in reverse. You just do the opposite of what you’ve been doing so far in making knit stitches.

When you knit, you start with the yarn in back. When you purl, the yarn starts in the front. When you knit, you go in through the “bottom” of a stitch (if you were to hold the left needle with the point sticking straight up). When you purl, you go in through the “top” of the stitch.

In both maneuvers, whether you’re knitting English or Continental, you’re always wrapping in a counter-clockwise direction. And you’re always tucking that new strand of yarn you’ve wrapped into and out of the old stitch, before dropping the old stitch off the needle. (Combined is a little different, watch the videos for those.)

In either case, sometimes it just takes repetition to get the hang of it. Watch the videos some more, and see if it doesn’t take.

don’t feel bad…it took me forever to figure it out. I finally had to sit with someone and basically watch over her shoulder. It’s really just backwards knitting if that makes sense. Instead of your needle in back, it’s in the front. Did you look at the video here? sometimes a picture of where the needles go helps more than the words!

but don’t feel bad…I was the remedial student in my first class…they wouldn’t even show me how to purl because I couldn’t even do a proper knit stitch! hang in there. You’ll get it!
:slight_smile: