Provisional Cast-On Conundrum

I am trying to knit a sweater for my daughter and I’m stumped. I’ve never done provisional cast-on before and, after a lot of trial and error, I finally figured it out. The sweater pattern starts from the top and goes down. It basically told me to cast on 27 stitches for the front and, eventually, I was to get to 99 at which point I knit until the armhole measures 5 inches. Then I was supposed to put those stitches on a holder and start on the back with 27 stitches. When I got to 99 stitches for the back, I was supposed to knit until the armhole measures 5 inches. I did all this, but this is where I’m stuck. For the row I’m on, I’m supposed to knit the 99 stitches for the back and then provisional cast on 6 stitches for the arm; then the pattern says to knit the 99 stitches in the pattern for the front. I think I’m somehow supposed to knit the stitches that I put on the holder. My question is this: how do I knit those stitches onto my current needle when the stitch holder itself is some ten inches below the needle I’m currently working with? I feel as if I would have to fold the sweater on itself in order to reach that stitch holder. I’m so confused! Am I doing this right? Am I even on the right track? I have torn this sweater out so many times and knitted it so many different ways, and this seems like the most logical up until this point. Please help!

Welcome the KH!
What is the name of your pattern?
From the directions you mention, it seems that the front and back are the same. Cast on 27, inc to 99, knit until the armhole is 5 inches. I’d expect front and back to measure the same.
Are the increases different for front and back? The armholes measure 5 inches front and back so that shouldn’t be where the difference in length is.

Good for you for working out a provisional cast on. That’s always handy to know how to do.