please help im seriously stressed

I’m trying to knit christmas presents for everyone in my immediate family. A scarf for my dad, mittens for my mom, two bags for two of my sisters, something else i dont know for another sister, and a cowl for the last sister. Which is where my problem is. i am a beginner knitter, and i have the yarn for the cowl, i have the pattern, but i dont have the right needles. i dont have the time, transportation, or money to buy the size needles i need. i need size 19, the closest i have is size 15, i dont know how to make a gauge for it. Please help, i need to get one bag and the cowl done first becasue those sisters live out of state, everyone else i can get the presents to easy.

Welcome to KH and to the world of knitting!
These are all wonderful projects that will make lovely gifts. Here’s a video on gauge that may help. It’s possible that if you’re a loose knitter, you may be able to get the size 15 needles to work.

For a new knitter, you’ve given yourself a difficult task to accomplish. So many projects in comparatively little time. One of the things you can do to relived the stress is to give people IOUs for these presents. You can wrap the yarn with the IOU if you have it already or you can just give a card with a description of your planned project, maybe even the photo of the pattern included. That way you’ll have time to be present and enjoy the holiday with your family. That’s one of the best gifts you can give.

1 Like

Thank you so much! Yes it is a lot, but I’ve made scarfs and a bag before, so heres hoping. I’m almost done with one bag, a d getting ready to do the cowl. I’ve told my sisters about whats going on and they told me not to worry, so good on that front! Again thank you so much!

I have another problem, but this one is more “I don’t understand what I’m doing.”