Patterns not appearing as expected

Hello everyone! I’m new to knitting, but have done crochet for years now. I wouldn’t call myself an expert at crochet, but it might be relevant that I started with that.

I’m using #8 needles and a basic yarn from Michael’s craft store that recommended that size. I bought this book: http://www.amazon.com/Teach-Yourself-Visually-Knitting/dp/0764596403 and have watched some of the how-to videos on this site. For reference, I use what this site calls the English method. I’ve been only been practicing so far and haven’t started a project yet because I feel like I’ve hit a wall. :wall:

Once I got knit and purl down, I tried to do some of the “easy” patterns in the book, but even after about 10 rows of knitting, all of the stitching looked the same to me. I didn’t see a difference between Seed, Stockingknit, and several other basic stitch patterns… in fact, they all just looked like Stockingknit if anything.

This is troublesome because the whole reason that I wanted to switch over from crochet to knitting was because I always like the knitting patterns better. I tend to both crochet and knit on the tighter side, so I tried knitting as loosely as I could handle and still no different… if anything, it looked worse to me. Does anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong?

It might help if you could post a picture of what you knitted? It’s not hard to mess up seed stitch the first time, though. If you’re knitting flat, you would do one row of knit/purl/knit/purl and then flip it over and do the SAME THING so that you end up with a checkerboard effect. It’s a bit hard to explain, but it makes sense once you get it right.

You’re probably right. I got so frustrated by it seemingly not coming out right that I haven’t even finished a square yet. I will do one whole stitch in a square and then post a picture and tell what the pattern is supposed to be and maybe that will help.