Pattern Help

What does (rest) in a pattern mean, like Row 1(rest) ? Certainly it doesn’t mean to rest if it’s at the beginning of a pattern.

:think: That’s a new one for me, too! :??

I’ve heard of resting rows where you don’t work the stitch pattern, but just knit or purl.

It’s in the book “Knitting for Dummies”, I’m a beginner knitter and have been working through the book and was going to try making the Chevron sampler on pg.143:

Row 1 (rest): K1, K2tog, *k4, (k1, yo, k1) in next st (double decrease using yo), k4, sl next 2 sts together as if to knit, k1, psso (double decrease); rep from * end ssk, k1.

I got lost on the double decrease using yarn over and the (rest) part is not helping. I looked through the book to see if it explained what rest meant and I cannot find anything. I haven’t been sure if it was a mistake or if it actually means something. :shrug: They also used (rest) on pg 147 in a scarf pattern. It says, Row 1 (rest): Knit.

The k1, yo, k1 is actually a double [I]increase[/I] not decrease (typo?). You knit into a st, leave it on the needle, wrap the yarn around and knit into the stitch again. The double decrease is the sl 2 tog, k1, psso.

Ok, so this isn’t a row you don’t do the pattern on. I think (rest) may be a typo too. The other pattern uses it more like I’ve heard - to denote a resting row you don’t do the pattern stitches on.

Yes, I think so too. I couldn’t find anything about doing decreases with yarn overs just increases… explains why I got lost with this one. Maybe they mean (RS) and not (rest).

Yep, that could be, because it’s definitely a RS row. Any yo is an increase, would not be a part of a decrease.

The stitch pattern: Cast on a multiple of 12 plus 3 stitches
Row 1: K1, K2tog, *k4, (k1, yo, k1) in next st (double increase using yo), k4, sl next 2 sts together as if to knit, k1, psso (double decrease); rep from * end ssk, k1.
Row 2: Purl

A few things: