Pattern help please

I have just completed the front of a toddler’s dress and the shaping isn’t right. The pattern is from simply knitting magazine - August 2009 entitled “Little Knit.” This pattern is also on your website under free patterns and as this pattern is supposed to be ideal for novice knitters and I’ve been knitting for several years, I feel somewhat demoralised. The problem arose when commencing the left bodice. After following instructions for the three rows which read "K2, p1, k1 rep to last 2 sts, k2. Next row p1, k1 rep to last st. p1. Next row: is the same as the first which ends up with ws facing to commence the next row. The instructions for the left bodice are then given as cast off 5sts at beg of next row, P30, slip rem 38sts onto a holder. Continuing in st st, dec 1st at beg of next 6 ws rows. This actually is the right bodice. What am I missing? The stitch count also doesn’t seem to be right. I hope you can help. There are 73sts at the start of commencing the bodice. The pattern doesn’t instruct to turn the work before commencing in st st.

Thank you.

I think that “easy” and “novice” are designations to trap knitters. Those patterns are the source of so many problems.
Sounds like the right front bodice to me too. Sometimes front left and right get confused even for designers.
I assume the cast off of 5sts is the underarm. The stitch count is ok, 5 + 30 + 38.

1 Like