Newbie needs pattern help!

Hi everyone, I’m new at knitting and decided to try
a cardigan, but I am having a really tough time understanding the instructions because they make no sense what so ever. So I hope someone out there can help me see the light at the end of the tunnel. The pattern is as follows.

Right front: cast on 54 sts. Work first 11 sts in moss st for double border. work remaining sts in cable and rib pattern as follows…

Pattern stitch: work in ribbing of P4, K9 for six rows.
Next Row work a double cable in each panel of K9. Continue in ribbing and hereafter work a double cable in each panel of K9 every 14th row until each panel has cable twisted 2 times…

Ok…how on earth do I get a double cable out of nine stitches? or am i missing something? Don’t forget I only have 54 sts to work with here.

I am soooooooooooooooo confused…:mrgreen:

Hiya kurt,
do you have a link to the pattern in question? :think: Sometimes (should be all the time) they will have a stitch key at the top or the bottom of the page. Detailing the particular stitches and abbreviations used in the pattern. That’s why it is sooo important to read patterns all the way through from the yarn requirements to the addenda at the very end. I know, most of us just want to jump right in and git er done. But knowing what is coming or what that special abbreviation means will help in the long run.:knitting: Look for the special stitch instructions. Those will explain those hard to understand bits. If it doesn’t explain those particular bits then, I really don’t know what to say:think:

Yep, take a look near the top of the pattern, before the CO for an explanation of how to do the double cable. I’m betting you do it with 3 sets of 3 sts (9 sts), but don’t have a clue as to how you would go about it.