Newbie help

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie to knitting, I’ve just started knitted a baby beanie. I’ve got to do 40 rows in stockinette stitch. I did 10 then Started a new row, a purl row but the stitches on the right hand needle were facing the other way, the knit side. That’s really frustrating cos I need them to face the side I’m doing. I unravelled a row and knitted and this time they turned around to be purl! Help me please! How can I correct this bizarre mistake?

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
You may have inadvertently skipped a row or repeated a knit or purl row. Take out the last row, one stich at a time (called tinking) and then look at your knitting. Here’s a video to help with recognizing knit and purl sts so that you’ll know which stitch to use on your new row.

See if this tutorial helps too.

Thanks so much for taking the time to give me those pointers I really appreciate your feedback cos I can’t knit without people like you helping total newbies.
I will now have the courage to look at my project again and hopefully figure out if I repeated a row

Hi again. Well I did unravel a row and I did find a few knit stitches in the wrong row. However when I tried to start a new row after unravelling or tinking the same thing happened the stitches Turned to Face the other way. So I unravelled another and same thing again. I’m getting peeved now I just might unravel it all.

Are you knitting in the round? Is it possible that you’re flipping the beanie so that sometimes you’re knitting on the outside of the circle (needle points closer to you) and sometimes on the inside of the circle (needle points farther from you)?