New to patterns :(

Hi everyone, like the title says I am new to patterns and have gotten stuck on one of the directions.

It says to SS 2 rows.

Now I know that means to do stocking stitch (knit one row, pearl one row) but do I do this once or twice? For example, do I knit, pearl and move on or knit, pearl, knit pearl and then move on to next step?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Only work 2 rows. so that means knit one row and purl the second row. Welcome to knitting patterns and to KH!

Thank you sooo much! I have been googling and wracking my brain trying to work out what they actually meant and my mum isn’t a knitter either so she was no help lol.

One row is just a single trip across the needles. In more complicated patterns which may have 8 or 12 rows to them, it may say to work 5 rows in pattern, but you only do 5 rows.

Thanks for that tip too! Will help when I advance to more “difficult” patterns LOL. From someone who has only ever knitted scarves to knitting a baby beanie for my bub, I am really starting to enjoy knitting and it’s a great pass time then just watching tv when I have a spare 5 mins lol.

Much more productive than tv and if you learn something new with every pattern, think how much you’ll have accomplished.

Most patterns have a glossary at the beginning of the pattern where they will explain what the abbreviations mean. Most patterns designers write in standard abbreviations. Every once in a while you’ll come across something that’s odd, the designer’s own shorthand. That doesn’t happen too often. Look first to the glossary, if any, for clarification or explanation of a stitch pattern.