New to knitting

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m not really sure how this forum is run, and if its proper to start a new thread just to announce I’m new to knitting, but I have a few questions and have heard this is the place to be :slight_smile:

First off, what kind of needles should I start with? I’ve been to the store to get a “beginning knitting kit” that contains 2 pair of needles size 6 and 8. Also included is a knit tally cable stitch needle, stitch holder, point protectors, and a few other things I’m completely clueless about.

I have however figured out which are the knitting needles :stuck_out_tongue: My question is, are these the correct sizes, or does it matter? In the videos I’ve been watching on the knit stitch and purl stitch it appears that the needles she uses are much bigger than what I have.

Also, I am left-handed and having trouble with the videos seeing as how I must do everything backwards. Despite this I have managed to learn double cast on, and am quite comfortable with it.

Any ideas on what kind of stitches to start with?

Last, what is the best kind of yarn to buy? I bought a $2 roll at the store just to learn the ropes with. It is 6.5mm/10.5 US…no idea what this means, but I’m hoping someone does lol!

I apologize for the length of this post!

Thanks for reading :slight_smile:
Rachel

Hi, Rachel, this is a great place to ask questions as well as introduce yourself.

The 6s might be a little small for now, but you may get yarn you can use them on, the 8s are okay. The yarn you bought is bulky though - that 6.5mm/US10.5 is the needle size it was gauged on, which is about 3 sizes larger than your 8, and I’d actually knit that weight yarn on size 11 or 13 needles. Soooo, you can get bigger needles or thinner yarn, the yarn would cost less. Look for some that’s smooth, light colored and either says worsted or DK or has a 3 or 4 - this Chartexplains a lot of it.