New to knitting - help with a pattern

Hi there, I am new to knitting and trying to follow a pattern to make a simple beanie hat.

Can anyone explain what the following means? (I have 104 stitches.)

Next row (crown shaping): K1 *K3tog, K14 rep from * to last st, K1-92 sts

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you

Hi Jacalyn, you will knit 1 stitch then ,knit 3 together knit 14 sts, knit 3 together knit 14 sts, knit 3 tog k14 and continue like this to the last stitch, knit 1. You should then have 92 sts left on your needles.
when you see an instruction within brackets or commas or whatever is used, you repeat just that bit for as long as instructed.
Hope this helps you and best of luck with your project :slight_smile:

1 Like

Most hats have some form of decreasing/shaping for the top of the hat. I use markers when I decrease normally, but I’m not sure how this pattern will be decreasing. Do you have a pattern name and link?

K1,* k3tog (knit three together), k14*, repeat stitches between * to last stitch k1. You should now have 92 stitches.

It will look like this - k1, k3tog, k14, k3tog, k14, k3tog, k14, etc till last stitch k1.

Thank you, Jan. That now makes sense.
Very kind of you for explaining the pattern.

Best wishes, Jacalyn :slight_smile:

The hat turned out really well. Thank you for your help. :blush:

So nicely done! The hat looks great and your knitting is very even and pretty.

1 Like

Very nice hat! Looks like a beret. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi there, any chance I could get more of your expert help?

I am making a pom pom hat (pattern by Erika Knight for John Lewis) and I am a little confused by the use of Patt in the instructions.

Shape Crown
Next row: Patt 4, P3tog, [patt 5, P3tog] x 4, patt 4. 33 sts
Work 2 rows straight in patt as set.

Many thanks, in advance… :slight_smile:

There are a couple of hats including a cable and a knit/purl rib but working in pattern means to continue the pattern you have been working in previous rows.