New to knitting and need loads of help

Hello,
I am new to knitting and I found your site by sheer chance! I am learning knitting with French instructions (I live in Paris). It is bad enough I am clueless when following english instructions, you can imagine French:aww:
I am also not too good with calculations/symmetry. So I really need all the help I can get:rofl:
An example for symmetry: number of stitches for symmetry: multiples of 6+5+1 stitch at each end.
What does that mean地nd how do I calculate?
So, if anyone out there can explain to me in simple terms (I have very limited logical thinking, by the way:teehee: ) it would be a tremendous advancement for me!
Thank you

Usually it is a multiple of one number plus an addition of another for a complete repetition of a pattern (e.g. cast on a multiple of 8 + 2, so in this case (8 x 3 = 24) 24 stitches plus 2 additional stitches giving you a total of 26 stitches to cast on. What is the context of the pattern you are working with?
Katrina

multiples of 6+5+1 stitch at each end.

The st pattern is a multiple of 6 + 5, so 11, 17, 23, etc, plus 1 st at each edge for a border, so 2 more.

Can you give more of the pattern? Its hard to say out of context.

I quoted this from a french knitting book titled 400 points of knitting where they give instructions for all the different stitches. This symmetry pattern is from (Im translating directly from the french language, so please excuse me if it makes little sense) Flat Ribbing 5/1.
Number of stitches for the symmetry: multiple of 6+5+ 1 stitch at both ends(I presume this is the selvedge?).
My problem is understanding not just these figures, but in almost every instruction they have this symmetry thing, and I cannot quite wrap it around my head as yet.
I thank everybody who is helping me on this.