New "Knitter"

Hi! I’m new to the wonderful world of knitting. I registered a while ago but had a small issue with getting my registration email so it took me a while to actually be able to post but here I am!

I bought knitting needles a few months ago but quickly became frustrated and bought a loom instead. I have made four hats so far (!) and I guess they came out okay, but I now I want to make a baby blanket for my friend who is due sometime in June. Her baby shower is in about a month…I’m hoping I can do it in that time. However, I have encountered a few issues. The pattern tells me to cast on 27 pegs (although the whole loom is 41 pegs). Am I supposed to go around the loom back to my original peg I cast on, or am I supposed to cut through the middle of the loom? Also, since I’m not going all the way around I’m struggling to understand if I am to go one way (knit all 27) and then go back in the opposite direction and purl? (My pattern says knit one row then purl one row) but like I said since I can’t go all the way around I’m a little confused.

I don’t even know if anyone on this site uses a loom. Sorry for the long post…I’m looking forward to getting to know everyone and eventually being able to help others :wink:

Welcome!

The vast majority of people here do traditional knitting with two needles. There may be a few loom knitters, but it may take awhile before you get an answer.

I do not use looms much. I believe you are to work the 27 stitches and then go back the other way and work those stitches. You do not want to go around the entire loom.
However, If you knit one row and then purl the next row you will have stocking stitch. This will curl without border stitches. If you knit every row it will be garter stitch and that does not curl. There are patterns designed just for looms. I suggest you find one of those patterns. If I had a link I would share it with you.